Leadership Directory

Note: this page has not yet been updated since the recent VLA elections.



(Voting members of the board; elected by the membership. Please see this page for job descriptions.)


Amy Olsen
Lanpher Memorial Library
141 Main St, Hyde Park, VT 05655
(802) 888-4628
[email protected]
Term ends: May 2020

Vice President/President-Elect

Amanda Merk
Norman Williams Public Library
10 The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091
vermontlibrariesvicepresi[email protected]
Term ends: May 2020

Past President

Cindy Weber
Stowe Free Library
90 Pond Street
Stowe VT 05672
(802) 253-6145
[email protected]


Marie A. Schmukal
Warren Public Library
413 Main Street
Warren VT 05674
(802) 496-3913
[email protected]
Term ends: May 2021


Susan Smolinsky
Peacham Library
656 Bayley Hazen Rd
Peacham, VT 05862
(802) 592-3216
[email protected]
Term ends: May 2020


(Presidents are voting members of the board; selected by sections.)

College and Special Libraries President:
Christie Silkotch
David W. Howe Memorial Library
University of Vermont
538 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05405
[email protected]

College and Special Libraries Vice-President:
Chenfang Yang
Julien and Virginia Cornell Library
Vermont Law School
68 N. Windsor Street
[email protected]

Friends & Trustees Section President
Dana Rozycki
John G. McCullough Free Library
PO Box 339
North Bennington, VT 05257
[email protected]

Friends & Trustees Section Vice President

Friends & Trustees Section Past President
Nancy Mark
Castleton Free Library
Friends of the Library
PO Box 296
Castleton, VT 05735
[email protected]

Public Libraries Section President
Loona Brogan
Culter Memorial Library
151 High St.
Plainfield, VT 05667
(802) 454-8504
[email protected]

Public Libraries Section Vice-President
Michelle Beaulieu
Highgate Library & Community Center
17 Mill Hill Rd
Highgate Center, VT 05459
[email protected]

Technical Services Section President
Dennise Post, Head of Circulation
Hartland Public Library
153 US Hwy 5, PO Box 137
Hartland, VT 05048-0137
[email protected]

Technical Services Section Vice-President
Stephanie Sopka
Marlboro College
[email protected]

Youth Librarians Section President
Adele West-Fisher
St. Johnsbury Athenaeum
1171 Main Street
St. Johnsbury, VT 05819
(802) 748-8291 ext. 303
[email protected]

Youth Librarians Section Vice-President
Caitlin Corless
Essex Free Library
1 Browns River Road
Essex VT 05452
(802) 879-0313
[email protected]


(Voting members of the board unless otherwise noted; appointed by president or board.)

Archivist (non-voting)
Paul Carnahan
Vermont Historical Society
60 Washington Street
Barre, VT 05641
(802) 479-8500
[email protected]

Awards Committee Chair (non-voting)
Lisa Milchman
Norwich Public Library
P.O. Box 290
Norwich VT 05055
(802) 649-1184
[email protected]

Department of Libraries Representative to the Board (non-voting)
Jason Broughton
Vermont Department of Libraries
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609
(802) 828-6953
[email protected]

Government Relations Committee Chair

Inclusion Committee Chair (non-voting)
Open position!

Intellectual Freedom Committee Chair

Membership & Outreach Committee Chair
Amy McMullen
Hartland Library
153 US-5
Hartland, VT 05408
(802) 436-2473
[email protected]

Vermont Library Substitute Pool Coordinator (non-voting)
Nancy Tusinski
Hartland Library
153 US-5
Hartland, VT 05048
(802) 436-2473
[email protected]

VLA News Editor (non-voting)
Janet Clapp
Rutland Free Library
10 Court Street
Rutland Vermont
(802) 773-1860
[email protected]
[email protected]

Web Team (non-voting)

Tessa Johnson
Dothan Brook School
[email protected]

Jessamyn West
PO Box 345
Randolph, VT 05060
[email protected]

Personnel Committee Chair
Sarah Snow
Ainsworth Public Library
P.O. Box 236
Williamstown VT 05679
(802) 433-5887
[email protected]

Scholarship Committee Chair (non-voting)
Jami Yazdani
You Can Leadership
1383 Clarendon Avenue
West Rutland, VT 05777
(802) 438-3172
[email protected]

Vermont Library Conference Chair
[email protected]


(Voting members of the board; elected by the membership.)

American Library Association Councilor
Marti Fiske
Dorothy Alling Memorial Library
21 Library Lane
Williston VT 05495
(802) 878-4918
[email protected]

(term ends 2020)

New England Library Association Representative
Amy Williams
Rutland Free Library
10 Court St
Rutland, VT 05701
(802) 773-1860
[email protected]

(term ends 2021)