Welcome to the Scholarship and Awards Committee

This committee is charged with defining, overseeing, and funding scholarship opportunities for library professional development, as well as overseeing the VLA Awards. The Vermont Library Association gives five awards for outstanding service to and support of the state’s libraries:

  1. Sarah C. Hagar Award;
  2. Green Mountain Award;
  3. Trustee of the Year Award;
  4. Birdie Award;
  5. Library Advocate of the Year Award.

To place a name in nomination for any award, please send the nominee’s name, the name of his/her library, a letter or letters explaining why this person should receive the award, along with your name, library, telephone number, and e-mail address to the Awards Committee chair. Nominations including a few letters that present a well-rounded picture of the candidate are preferred to a single letter, or many letters that all say similar things. If a nomination is made by more than one person, please designate one signatory as the contact person.

Honoring Retirees

Are you retiring or know a librarian who is? Please let us know! If that librarian is also a VLA member we want to honor them at the Vermont Library Conference.

2020 Graduate Student Scholarship

Funding Opportunities

Megan Estey Butterfield

The VLA Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the 2020 Graduate Student Scholarship was awarded to Megan Estey Butterfield of Hinesburg. Megan is currently the Youth Librarian Assistant at the Fletcher Free Library, and has been involved in Youth Services there since 2007! She is pursuing her MLS at the University of North Texas. We hope you will join us in congratulating Megan and wishing her well in her studies.

Fall 2019 Professional Development Grant Winners:

Margaret Woodruff

Margaret Woodruff

The VLA Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Fall 2019 VLA Professional Development Grant (formerly the Continuing Education Grant) has two winners! The worthy recipients who split the grant monies were Margaret Woodruff, Director of the Charlotte Library and Abigail Maier Johnson, Children’s Librarian at the Cobleigh Library in Lyndonville. Both recipients participated in continuing education through the Library Juice Academy – Margaret’s class was titled “Incorporating Sustainability into Information Literacy, Library Programs, and Library Organizations” and Abby’s “Technology, Literacy, and Young Children: Media Mentorship for Newborns to Five-Year-Olds and Their Families.”

Read Abby’s report on Media Mentorship with Our Youngest Library Users and Their Families

Page last updated June 12, 2021