Contact Us
Chair: Lisa Milchman
Norwich Public Library

Funding Opportunities

Scholarship Winners’ Reports

Welcome to the VLA Scholarship Committee!

This committee is charged with defining, overseeing, and funding scholarship opportunities for library professional development.

2020 Graduate Student Scholarship

Megan Estey Butterfield

The VLA Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the 2020 Graduate Student Scholarship was awarded to Megan Estey Butterfield of Hinesburg. Megan is currently the Youth Librarian Assistant at the Fletcher Free Library, and has been involved in Youth Services there since 2007! She is pursuing her MLS at the University of North Texas. We hope you will join us in congratulating Megan and wishing her well in her studies.

Fall 2019 Professional Development Grant Winners:

Abby Meir Johnson

Abby Maier Johnson

Margaret Woodruff

Margaret Woodruff

The VLA Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Fall 2019 VLA Professional Development Grant (formerly the Continuing Education Grant) has two winners! The worthy recipients who split the grant monies were Margaret Woodruff, Director of the Charlotte Library and Abigail Maier Johnson, Children’s Librarian at the Cobleigh Library in Lyndonville. Both recipients participated in continuing education through the Library Juice Academy – Margaret’s class was titled “Incorporating Sustainability into Information Literacy, Library Programs, and Library Organizations” and Abby’s “Technology, Literacy, and Young Children: Media Mentorship for Newborns to Five-Year-Olds and Their Families.”

Read Abby’s report on Media Mentorship with Our Youngest Library Users and Their Families